New Faces and Old


As we enter Round 4 of the Lew Collins Autumn Cup 2017

we are lucky to have 4 new juniors and the return of 2 past ones.

3 boys and 1 girl plus 2 boys that used to play here.

The boys are – Pratyush, Kane and Jireh and the girl is Varshitha.

Both Pratyush and Varshitha play very well but do need help recording their games as do Kane and Jireh.

Robin and Yabla  are old hands and should do well.

We extend a warm Welcome! to them all and hope they enjoy their time and games with us.


Players At the Pakuranga “Latvian” Touranment

This was Howick Pakuranga’s premier event “Latvian” strongest field with 115 players.

Papatoetoe had  9 players at the tournament  A Grade Under 1950: 1st= Oliver Picken, D Grade 1st Louis Lee, D Grade Under 1000: 1st Paul Postma. The others played performed quite admirably.


Junior Summer Shield 2017



the last 2 rounds were played without the draws being posted on the web site mainly because the attendance of the players was too erratic to be sure who would turn up, however we were able to complete the event will the following result   –

1st   Ryan Nguyen

2nd  Lloyd Williams

3rd = Fa Fia and Crystal Hart

well done everybody!   Next week is the Russell Metge Rapid 

2 Rounds per night – 15 min each

Junior Summer Shield R4

the Summer Shield 2017 still only has a small field with some players

away at school camps, but we did get to welcome one new face

Ridith Kumar who played a friendly game against Kimberly and

did very well. He is in the draw for this week against a stronger opponent in

Henry Luo. The Draw for – ROUND 4

1. Ryan         v          Lloyd

2. Devin       v          Crystal

3. Max Jiang    v     Dylan

4. Kimberly     v      Aiden

5. Darius         v      Max Luo

6. Ridith         v      Henry

7. Fergus        v       Joanna

8. Sandeep     v      Fa Fia

9. Oliver          v      Mishikaa

10. William     v     BYE


early start at 5pm – good luck everyone


Junior Summer Shield 2017 R3

Round 3

1. Crystal  0       v    1       Lloyd

2.Devin   0         v   1      Aiden

3.Henry  0          v   1      Ryan

4.Max Luo  0      v   1      Max  Jiang

5.Dylan    1          v   0     Sandeep

6.Kimberly  1       v    0    William

7.Mishikaa  0       v     1   Darius

8.Fa Fia   0.5        v   0.5    Fergus

9.Joanna    0        v      1  Oliver

starting at 5pm finish about 6.30pm

Junior Summer Shield 2017 R2

the Junior Year for 2017 – got off to a very slow start last week [1. 2. 17] with the Rooster only waking a few sleepy heads.

This week [8.2.17] was a little bit better but we need a few more faces to get the Summer Shield under way properly

The Draw for Round 2  is  —  START   5pm

1. Lloyd     v       Fa Fia

2. Ryan      v      Max Luo

3. Sandeep   v    Crystal

4. Aiden         v    Joanna

5. Fergus       v     Henry Luo

6.Max Jiang   v    Kimberly

7. Oliver        v      Dylan

8. Devin Du  v   Darius Zu

9.William    v     Mishikaa

remember first named player plays White

Papatoeoe Results for Oceania Zonal 2017

Papatoetoe had 3 players

Oliver Picken, Barry Hooton, Danny Madden.

Would like to congratulate all players on doing so well. Oliver achieving a Candidate Master (CM) with 4.5 points in the final round defeating Viney Kumar from Australia (1703). Barry on 3.5 and Danny Madden on 2.5. which was great result as it was his second only tournament ever.


This Saturday 3Decemeber -A-B-C-Grade 25+5 will be held

on  Sunday  4th Decemeber   the Juniors 25+5  will be held

86 Cambridge Terrace  papatoetoe

St George Bowls Club  ph 2784516

all Welcome

Junior Cups and Trophy Winners – 2016


John McRae Junior Summer Shield  – 1st  Lucy Massey

Special Beginners game recording prize – Devin Du   [ Donated Chess Set and Mat ]

Russell Metge Junior Rapid Cup – 1st Peter Brzozowski

Book Prize – Crystal Hart  

Lew Collins Junior Autumn Cup – 1st Lucy Massey

B Grade [Medal] – Henry Luo

Hans Gao Junior Handicap Shield – 1st Hugh Gao

Grade Prize – Max Jiang  [ book ]

Graeme Coleman Junior Winter Knight – 1st Jasraj Singh Chadha

Winter Pawn [ Medal] – Devin Du

Clive Wilson Junior Spring Cup – 1st = Fergus Lee , Hugh Gao

Pauline Thomas Junior Blitz Cup – 1st = Lloyd Williams , Ryan Nguyen

Most Improved Junior Trophy – Lloyd Williams


Nigel Metge Rook Junior A Grade Champ – 1st  Ryan Nguyen

Graham Banks Cup Junior B Grade Champ – 1st  Ansh Gupta

Leo Peti Cup Junior C Grade Champ – 1st  Max Jiang


Search the Site

Upcoming Events

August 2017
« Jul